Thanksgiving-A Time To Be Thankful Or A Day That Marks The Start Of Christmas?(from the best)

Last weekend, my husband, daughter and I went to South Carolina to attend a college football game.  Afterwards we went out to eat and then started the drive home.  My husband turned on the radio and we heard
Christmas songs.  Too early, don’t you think?

I know the stores have the Christmas decorations in the stores already.  In fact, Christmas items started arriving in the stores shortly after school started.  But more and more, I have noticed that people are decorating for Christmas prior to Thanksgiving.  I guess they think when company comes everything is ready for Christmas.  They have decorations up and Christmas dishes ready for the Thanksgiving turkey.  One friend even mentioned on FB that they are decorated and ready for Christmas.  I have even seen a Christmas tree in the windows of one of the houses on my street.

But that is one race I will not win.  I love Thanksgiving and I love having autumn
decorations up. I decorate for fall around September 1st, shortly after schools starts.  I love to see the fall colors and the leaves, pumpkins, scarecrows and gourds.  I want to enjoy each season and I want to set aside time to be thankful for all the blessings I have.  Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful every day, but I enjoy a special time of family and friends at Thanksgiving and look forward to seeing everyone around the table and mark off another year of telling everyone what we are thankful for that year.  A time of gratitude. I am so thankful that each and every one of them can be there another year.  I know the day after Thanksgiving typically starts the beginning of the holiday shopping season.  And that’s okay with me.  I will put up most of the Christmas decorations that weekend.  But the
Christmas tree and the stockings will wait for a weekend when my husband and children can spend time decorating the tree, enjoy hot cocoa and then have a fire in the fireplace and enjoy the result of our hard work.  I know it’s hard for children to wait for Christmas, but I can wait.   I will pass the time by taking a little extra time to enjoy the Thanksgiving season for what it means to me and my family.

Leigh@mom2momtoday.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving-A Time To Be Thankful Or A Day That Marks The Start Of Christmas?(from the best)

  1. mamaburde says:

    I totally agree. I feel like this year people are really jumping into getting Christmas decorations up more than ever. It’s always like that at stores, but some of my FB friends too have said they already have their decorations up. There is a store (I can’t remember, but like a Younkers or something) that posted signs on their doors that said they will not decorate for Christmas until after Thanksgiving. A picture of the sign circulated on FB and I thought it was a great idea – very clever.

    • mom2momtoday says:

      I am glad you enjoyed this blog and feel the same way. I am even more determined now to keep the Thanks in Thanksgiving. Years ago there was a store that advertised a sale for the day before Thanksgiving, they called it a Pre-Thanks”gift”ing Day sale. I hope that Thanksgiving never becomes Thanksgifting!

Leave a Reply

